Saturday, March 10, 2012

Texas House Races -- Bexar Co.

5 of the 10 Bexar County state representatives face no major party opposition in either the primary or the general, and the following were reelected yesterday with the passage of the filing deadline:

  • Trey Martinez Fischer
  • Ruth Jones McClendon
  • Lyle Larson
  • Mike Villarreal
  • Jose Menendez
Status of the other 5 seats is as follows:
  • 3 Democrats are vying for the nomination to face John Garza in a district with a TWI rating of 2.3R
  • Joe Farias and Roland Gutierrez each have a general election opponent
  • Speaker Straus has a primary opponent
  • 2 Democrats and 1 Republican are vying to replace Joaquin Castro, who is running for Congress

More information may be found at